Posted on

Persian Empire Bible Map

The Persian Empire, B.C. 538-330. As the Babylonian power arose with Nebuchadnezzar, the Persian began with Cyrus the Great.

He was the hereditary king of the Persians who headed a revolt against the Medes. This revolt resulted in reversing the relations of the two races so that the Persians became dominant. He then led his united people westward. And so he conquered Croesus, the king of Lydia, thus extending his dominion from the Persian Gulf to the Aegean Sea.

The power of Babylon began to fall on the death of Nebuchadnezzar, whose successors were weaklings. Then in B.C. 538 Cyrus took the city of Babylon. His dominions were now larger than those of the old Assyrian empire. And so under his successors the conquests of Persia were pushed both eastward and westward. And then under Darius the Great, they embraced all the lands from the Indus to the

Persian Empire Bible Map
Persian Empire Bible Map

Ancient Persia Bible Map

The map represents the empire of Persia at this period, with the twenty provinces, into which it was divided by Darius. This empire lasted for 200 years, until its conquest by Alexander the Great, B.C. 330, when the scepter of the East passed into European hands. And then Greece gave law to Asia. In the extent of its territory, in the strength of its dominion, and in the consolidation of its conquests, Persia was far greater than either Assyria or Babylon.

The scale of all the maps of the Assyrian, Babylonian and Persian Empires are the same, so that their relative proportions may be seen.

The map of the Persian Empire represents the political state of the Oriental world at the conclusion of the Old Testament period. When Ezra and Nehemiah were at Jerusalem, and Haggai and Malachi were the prophets of Judah, all the lands were under the dominion of Persia, and were governed from “Shushan the palace,” or Susa.

More Persian Empire Info and other Bible Maps

If you want more bible maps of bible lands with more detail and information then download this Bible Atlas.